I/You

I’m waiting for you to say you love me
You’re waiting for me to walk away
We’re standing at a crossroads, looking through each other
to find the words we want to hear, to hide the words we cannot say
I’m trying not to tell you I adore you
You’re trying not to tell me it’s the end
We’re slipping past each other, the distance growing wide
and we know we’ll never pass this way again
Perception failed us tonight
We’re peering into cracked and tarnished mirrors
We’re searching in each other for all our hopes and dreams
but we’re only finding echoes of our fears
I’m hoping that we’re both in this together
you’re certain that we’re lost in this alone
Two paths stretch out before us, away from one another
so when this ends, we’ll both be on our own.

~ September 21, 2009

Leave a Reply

