Say what you need to say.

#iwishihadsaid…

The Washington Post ran a slideshow about things people wish they had said when they had the chance, from Jackie Hooper’s “The Things You Would Have Said” and Twitter responses to their prompt. Many thanks to Connie Schultz for posting it on Facebook, because now I’m sitting here thinking of all the things I should have said.

From what I’ve read (mostly), the idea is generally positive; however, one person commented that they would say the bad things that they’ve bitten their tongue over for years, and I think that’s wise as well. The world and our experiences in it aren’t all good, and the most important thing is to be true to oneself.

So, in no particular order…

-You really are funny. Even when I’m angry it takes all the energy I have to keep a straight face and remember that I’m supposed to be mad. I need to work on that (laughing, not being mad).

-I should have stopped talking to you the first time I thought, “glad I’m on your good side…” Hopefully one day you realize that of all the conflicts you’ve had with friends and ex-friends, you are the common denominator.

-I’m sorry for not standing up for you the way I should have. You were my friend, and when I had the chance to be yours I didn’t take it. I hope you grew up happy.

-Shut. Up.

-Thanks for showing me who you really are. I only wish you would have done it sooner, so I could have avoided all the drama.

-You’re going to be an amazing mother, and I hope that your kidlet turns out as freaky and awesome as you’ve always been. (And that I can say this to your face soon!)

-I’m glad you thought I was clever and spirited rather than disrespectful. Because I’m not when you’re concerned – I respect you an incredible amount. You’re the reason I took the path I did and the only reason I would consider going back to it.

There’s so much more I could say, to so many more people, but I think that’s enough for now. What should you have said?

 

Leave a Reply

