Setting good habits

I’ve had enough of New Year’s resolutions. Everybody knows (some better than most) that the very act of resolving to do or change something in the coming year is as good as admitting that six months from now that particular part of one’s life is going to be pretty much the same. The only resolution I’ve made in the last several years that I would make again, if only to underscore the irony, is to drink more — that’s right, more — because by following the formula of resolution =/= follow-through, I will actually (once again) drink less.

It all goes back to a “lifestyle” mentality; resolutions, like diets, are short-lived and usually undertaken as the result of peer pressure or an adrenaline shot of “This is the year!” and, when one’s body or psyche have had enough of sudden changes it revolts…and we revert.

That being said, what I do like is the idea of taking personal inventory once or several times a year, to evaluate who I am and where I’m going and, most importantly, what habits I’ve developed, can develop, or need to break to help me be the best person I can be.

One of the good habits I want to set is one that I started last year: writing something every day. I’m not so concerned about the material or the medium, as long as I’m thinking creatively; the goal is to spend ten minutes just throwing things on a page (or a screen) to get my thought process flowing. My creative center is screaming for some attention, and it’s in my best interest to maintain that balance.

I have a long list of other habits to make and break, and I’ll likely be discussing more of  them on here. But for now, just getting this down on the screen is enough to feel like 2012 will be a productive year. (And, look Ma, I wrote something!)

What are your goals or resolutions for 2012?

 

Leave a Reply

